Mrs. Griz    

 
 
Picture
By Timothy

In front of me is a small tree.  This tree’s position is somewhat strange because it is on a grassy knoll overlooking a drainage basin.  The sun is shimmering beautifully on its slightly orange leaves.  It is a small tree only about seven feet in stature.  Its trunk splits at the very bottom and creates a wide diameter flat area on top.  Its upper leaves are more orange and the sun is mainly shining on its upper half.  The lower leaves of this tree are a minty, green color.  The birds and bugs are chirping happily all around and the temperature feels like it is in the seventies; it is beautiful, cool weather.  This tree if it were larger would look like a series of trees due to its natural split at the very base of the trunk.  The knoll that it is sitting on is about two or three feet in high, therefore the top of the tree stands at about ten feet.  There are almost no clouds in the sky except for a few wispy, cirrus clouds.  It is a beautiful day, and I am excitedly anticipating my soccer practice tonight.  I also hope that we will get to play some ultimate frisbee on the lunch break.   This day is beautiful because of the torrential rain we had only two days ago.  The air is crisp and fresh and I am enjoying the opportunity to journal outside today.  
Picture
Abbey
9/17/2010 12:23:54 am

Very Awesome! I liked that it was very descriptive. I could even smell Fall when I read it!

Reply
William
9/17/2010 12:55:48 am

Great detail, and descriptive words. I like nice days.

Reply
Anna
9/17/2010 02:14:40 am

I could picture the tree in my mind when I read it. It made me wish for another day like that. The words were very colorful!

Reply
joe boy
9/17/2010 04:53:45 am

Very good paper, it was very fun to read!

Reply
Katherine
9/17/2010 07:26:11 am

While reading this, I felt like I was actually there with you! I could almost smell fall coming. It was, in a way, like reading a painting. (:

Reply
Mrs. Griz
9/19/2010 01:00:05 pm

Tim!
Excellent descriptions! You effectively paint the picture of not only the tree, but the whole day. My favorite line is: "The sun is shimmering beautifully on its slightly orange leaves." I appreciate your attention to detail, and the flow of one idea to the next.

You also did an outstanding job commenting on all the other journals! Way to go! :)

Reply
Jacob
9/19/2010 11:10:10 pm

Good discriptions and word choice. Very nice job!

Reply
Tessa
9/21/2010 04:54:16 am

Yeah! (Jacob stole exactly what i was going to say.)
very descriptive and excellent word choice! And i think you did a good job on putting it in the order that you put it in.

Reply
Micah Lee
9/21/2010 11:30:41 pm

I really thought that everything was tangible, because of the way you described what you were experiencing. I loved the part about the crisp air it made me really want it to be fall already.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Class Blog

    This is the place to get all the info on what's going in Composition and Literature A!

    How to Comment

    Commenting is fun! You are always allowed to comment on any blog post even if it is not an assignment. Here are some guidelines for posting:

    1. Proofread your post. Make sure you have everything spelled and punctuated correctly before posting.
    2. Make corrections. If you notice a mistake you can 'fix' it by posting an additional comment with an *and the correction.
    3. Be considerate, insightful, positive, helpful, and polite.
    4. Only use your first name. This is a public website so it is a good idea to simply use your first name.

    Archives

    October 2010
    September 2010
    August 2010

    Categories

    All
    Assignments
    Creative Writing
    Notes From Mrs. G
    Photos
    Short Stories
    Student Work
    To Kill A Mockingbird
    Writing Assignment

    RSS Feed