Mrs. Griz    

 
 
Picture
Here is link to a version that has audio with it too:
http://content.loudlit.org/audio/fire/pages/01_01_fire.htm

Also, e-notes has vocabulary help, and an option to download the PDF:
http://www.enotes.com/build-fire-text/Build-Fire?start=5

Full text from jacklondons.net:
http://www.jacklondons.net/buildafire.html

Please find a few biographical facts on Jack London for Monday's class!!!

Interactive Question: If you were the dog in "To Build a Fire" what would be your point of view?
Timothy
8/24/2010 07:45:43 am

I enjoyed reading this story, because of its seriousness. This story's plot and theme greatly contrasted that of "A Christmas Memory", because it was not humorous by any means. I think that Jack London did a great job on writing "To Build a Fire", and even though it is not a "feel good" story, I still felt the same satisfaction from reading it as I did from "A Christmas Memory".

Reply
William
8/25/2010 02:20:11 am

Do you want us to say how we would feel if we felt the dog's feelings, or what we would feel if we as ourselves were in the dogs position? Or are you asking what the dogs POV (1st, 2nd, or 3rd person) is?

Reply
Tessa
8/26/2010 01:35:36 am

Okay, well if I were the dog i think I'd be pretty depressed all the time and there would always be a serious note. And I'm not really into saddish stories, but i thought this was VERY well written.

Reply
Micah Lee
8/26/2010 03:53:50 am

I would be extremely frustrated. I mean I wouldn't be able to tell my master that going out in this cold weather was a bad plan and I couldn't leave him. I would also be scared out of my mind when my master tried to kill me. I don't know why the dog didn't run away.

Reply
Katherine
8/26/2010 08:17:00 am

I would not want to be the dog in this story. Reason #1: I would have to go hiking, not to mention go hiking when it is -75 degrees out. Reason #2: My own master would try to kill me just so he could live.
I didn't really like the relationship between the dog and master, either. There wasn't very much loyalty or compassion.
So to answer the question, if I were the dog my point of view would have been that I was just with the man to be with him. I had no ties to him and I only obeyed him because he would hurt me otherwise.

Reply
William
8/27/2010 01:33:42 am

If i was that mutt, i'd be pretty content. I mean, i got a nice warm coat of fur and this dude that really doesn't like me is freezing himself. I don't think i'd be cruel enough to let him die so though i would have run to the camp and brought back some help. I probably would have stole his biscuits first though because those sounded quite luscious, and i would need my energy to run fast to the camp.

Reply
Jacob
8/27/2010 05:45:09 am

Well, if I was the dog, I would be wondering why he wouldn't stop and make a fire if it was soo cold. Not to mention wanting to just leave him after he tried to KILL me!!!...Who does that???? 0_o

Reply
Abbey
8/28/2010 05:29:06 am

If I was the dog, I would feel depressed, unloved, and scared! Probally warm too, though! :) My point of veiw if I was the dog would be i'm trying to do what the man is telling me to do so he won't hurt me!!

Reply
Anna
8/29/2010 05:31:57 am

If I was the dog in the story, I would probably feel angry at the man for treating me like he treated the dog. I would probably run away from him the first chance I got!

Reply
Jonah
9/6/2010 01:24:34 am

I would hate to be the dog. I would not have stayed with the man. The dog was very loyal but didn't get treated well for it.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Class Blog

    This is the place to get all the info on what's going in Composition and Literature A!

    How to Comment

    Commenting is fun! You are always allowed to comment on any blog post even if it is not an assignment. Here are some guidelines for posting:

    1. Proofread your post. Make sure you have everything spelled and punctuated correctly before posting.
    2. Make corrections. If you notice a mistake you can 'fix' it by posting an additional comment with an *and the correction.
    3. Be considerate, insightful, positive, helpful, and polite.
    4. Only use your first name. This is a public website so it is a good idea to simply use your first name.

    Archives

    October 2010
    September 2010
    August 2010

    Categories

    All
    Assignments
    Creative Writing
    Notes From Mrs. G
    Photos
    Short Stories
    Student Work
    To Kill A Mockingbird
    Writing Assignment

    RSS Feed